Take a tour of our museumsLive the experience


The Rooftile and Brickworks Museum opened its doors to the public in 2007. It is housed in the N. & S. Tsalapatas Rooftile and Brickworks Factory, in Volos. It functions under the responsibility of the Piraeus Bank Group Cultural Foundation, and will continue to do so for a period of fifty years since its establishment.



The Tsalapatas Rooftile and Brickworks Factory


The N. & S. Tsalapatas Rooftile and Brickworks Factory was founded in 1926. Its total area covered 22,000m2 (236,806ft2, or approximately 5,44 acres) and the installed power of its equipment was 300HP. It was an important productive unit, whose products were known throughout Greece. During the peak of its activity, it employed 250 people.


Up to 1978, when it stopped operating, the fires of the famous Ηοffmann kiln went cold only during the German Occupation (1940-1944), and twice more during the devastating earthquakes of 1954-56 that shook Volos.


The transformation of the factory into a museum


In 1995, the Municipality of Volos bought the complex in the context of the URBAN Programme.


Over the period 1998-2001, the factory's buildings were rehabilitated, with a view to creating a multipurpose cultural venue.


In 2004, the Piraeus Bank Group Cultural Foundation accepted the undertaking of creating a model Rooftile and Brickworks Museum in the factory's main facilities (5,000m2, or 53,820 ft2).

The project was completed in 2006.


Today, the Rooftile and Brickworks Museum constitutes a strong cultural pole of attraction, contributing to:


  • The amplification of the local cultural reserve
  • The preservation and promotion of the industrial heritage
  • The development of cultural tourism in the wider region of the Magnissia prefecture.


Download the Press Kit of the Museum

Educational material

See the Educational material of the Museum